Hippie Modernism – Continuation and More Finals

Continuing my hippie project, I researched some artists that dealt with similar concepts and I brainstormed some phrases that related to current affairs in the world. I also experimented with some printing techniques, I tried heat-pressing vinyl and foils to fabric, as well as some sublimation on fabric. I loved how bright the colours turned out with the sublimation printing even though this technique wasn’t suitable for my final piece plans, so I’m keeping it in mind for future projects. I decided that I wanted to produce my final posters with the risograph.

My first poster was based on social issues; I focused on social media and the idea that it is all-consuming and fake, only showing off carefully selected parts of peoples’ lives. I constructed the typography in a collage-like style to emphasise the aspect of a fake and overly-composed image. My second poster was based on ongoing political issues, i.e. the war in Ukraine. I used my marbling textures and digitally cut out the words “END WAR” to position in the woman’s sunglasses. My third and final poster was about general equality, simply placing my phrase on a person’s t-shirt, a person who was non-gender and non-race specific. I applied my psychedelic aesthetic to all three posters to keep with the hippie theme too.

Figure 1 – “Social Media is Fake” risograph poster
Figure 2 – “End War” risograph poster
Figure 3 – “No Freedom ‘Til We’re Equal” risograph poster

S.W.O.T. Analysis:

Strengths – I think my first poster was the strongest of the three, and I think the research into current issues and similar existing work really helped me to come up with these finals. I also experimented more with printing, like heat pressing foils and vinyl, sublimation and risograph printing.

Weaknesses – I feel like my second poster could have been explored more, it isn’t as psychedelic as the other two. I definitely could have pushed this further and produced a more cohesive triptych. I could have done some more tests with the printing techniques too.

Opportunities – I definitely want to continue to investigate and produce artivism. Bringing art and activism together means so much to me and it can portray such positive messages, so I will keep trying to promote these messages in my future work. I also want to revisit risography, I thoroughly enjoyed the process and I may want to look at more printing techniques.

Threats – As I have said previously, intersectionality is important so I need to be careful not to segregate any minorities and keep my artivism as inclusive as I possibly can.

SMART Targets:

My aims for the future are to revisit printing techniques and to do way more experimenting and test designs than I have done recently. I want to continue to promote important social, political, environmental and economical messages in my work going forward too.

Leave a comment